Nobody’s Listening Presents: There Are No Words, An A-Z Of Instrumentals.

Hullo. I was recently presented with one of those post a video a day tasks that crop up on Facebook from time to time. You’ve seen them, the ones you roll your eyes at and scroll past as someone force feeds you their superior musical taste.

Anyways, for want of something better to do I took up the baton passed by my old school chum, bon viveur and owner of a particularly apely nob, Ron Musgrove and joined in with the ‘Instrumental A-Z daily challenge’.

As is always the case with these things, it was met with little to no interest but I quite enjoyed the assignment of finding Instrumental pieces for each letter of the alphabet and decided to collate the twenty six picks for your listening pleasure.

Above is a spotify playlist containing the tracks I posted each day, with a few tweaks due to the platform not being as exhaustive as youtube. As usual, I’ve also included yootoob links below for those of you without spotify, because I’m nice like that. So relax, and enjoy almost two hours of music unsullied by the human voice.

Day 1. A. Angi by Davy Graham.

Day 2. B. The Box by Orbital.

Day 3. C. Cast Your Fate To The Wind by Vince Guaraldi.

Day 4. D. Danube Incident by Lalo Schifrin.

Day 5. E. Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye by John Coltrane.

Day 6. F. Feel So Sad (Glides and Chimes) by Spiritualized.

Day 7. G. Groovin’ With Mr Bloe by Mr.Bloe.

Day 8. H. Hallogallo by Neu!

Day 9. I. It’s A Minor Thing by Dorothy Ashby.

Day 10. J. Jupiter, The Bringer Of Jollity by Gustav Holst.

Day 11. K. Kids Will Be Skeletons by Mogwai.

Day 12. L. Law Of The Jungle by Link Wray And His Raymen.

Day 13. M. Marseillaise (Générique) by Francis Lai.

Day 14. N. Nicola by Bert Jansch.

Day 15. O. Oh Happy Day by Jimmy McGriff.

Day 16. P. The Planet Krypton by John Williams.

Day 17. Q. Quiet Nights Of Quiet Stars by Oscar Peterson Trio.

Day 18. R. Return Of Django by The Upsetters.

Day 19. S. Solan Goose by Erland Cooper.

Day 20. T. The Thing by Ennio Morricone.

Day 21. U. Until It’s Time For You To Go by Gabor Szabo.

Day 22. V. Viking 1 by Moondog.

Day 23. W. Whistle Down The Wind by Malcolm Arnold.

Day 24. X. X-Ray Bear by The Cactus Channel.

Day 25. Y. You Can’t Sit Down by Booker T And The MG’s.

Day 26. Z. Zulu (Main Theme) by John Barry.

See you soon.

Andrew Orley.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s